Due to the subject matter of my last post, it is best that I explain myself a little more.
Up until the last year or so, I have not been one to exercise regularly. That is not to say I don't get exercise, but I didn't have much of a daily routine. To put it mildly, I am not a jogger or a runner (because that hurts a lot when you are top heavy like I am), I am not a swimmer (having hydrophobia will do that to you), and my favorite sports I have enjoyed regularly when I was younger (like High School time and beyond) was archery, weight lifting, and bowling.
As of July of last year I got really got sick to death of my lack of energy levels throughout the day (plus the extra pregnancy weight that I couldn't get rid of didn't help), so since there was an exercise center for anyone living in that particular community, I decided to use it. The arrangement was for me to go at 8 am, be back by 8:30am so I had just enough time for a quick shower before my kiddo woke up. I did this three times a week and loved it every time, no matter of the quirky people I met at the gym. Unfortunately, my daughter started to figure out that mommy was disappearing early in the morning, and even though her grandma and grandpa were home to keep an ear on her while I was gone for that 30 minutes three times a week, she couldn't handle that I was not around and I heard about it by the time I got back. Oh and forget about trying to go during her nap, which wasn't a problem for her, but the competition at the gym got nasty in the afternoon, which is why I always preferred to go in the morning.
Outside of attempting to do yoga in my dinky bedroom I had at the time, exercising routinely was at a stand still. Sure I could do any number of what I wanted in the living room, so said those that I was living with, but I really couldn't deal with having anyone be in the same room with me that would be watching me if they were not exercising at the same time as I was. It made me feel incredibly uneasy and uncomfortable, so I stopped outside of attempting yoga a few times a week. Unfortunately the light yoga I was learning and doing is not the type that sheds the pounds, so I was at a stand still.
About a month ago, a little over a year later, I got it in my head to try exercising regularly again. This time, I was going to try to do some things that my body wasn't really used to. I started off with 15 minutes of yoga (with the help of Let's Yoga for the DS), and then try my best to do at least 15 minutes of heavy cardio (aka Jillian Michael's Fitness Ultimatum 2010 for the DS). Let me tell you, the cardio kicks my ass real hard, especially since the first five minutes is me running/jogging non stop. Dang. I haven't gone all the way to 15 minutes yet, but I have gotten real damn close (somewhere around 13 is what I last noticed) before I felt like I was going to be sick.
I did this every day until I had my operation a month ago, then I had to take it easy for a while so I didn't rip or tear anything important. Now that I got my doc's head nod that I can start gradually get back into my daily exercise routine, I am excited again. Oh and when I am not doing that 30 minute workout because of time or whatnot I try to squeeze in 15 minutes of AM Yoga with Rodney Yee. I am still of the mind I have to do it before starting my day, so if my day is pre-planned, I forgo this lengthy routine. At least with the AM Yoga I can feel ready to start whatever my day's plans are.
With all this exercising, I am really hoping to start physically seeing results soon enough. I know I am feeling my energy levels come back significantly for the rest of my day, so that is definitely an improvement.
No comments:
Post a Comment